Hotaru will attend Mugen Gakuen after all

IMG-20161030-WA0018.jpg

Today I got another email from Mugen Gakuen telling me Hotaru has been officially accepted. It even contained the word “welcome” and it was such a shock, my fight or flight reflexes kicked in big time. It took me a while to calm down and process it, though it still doesn’t sink. Hotaru even asked why I wasn’t screaming and whooping like I did when they sent the first email. Guess I got so disappointed to learn that the process was longer than I just didn’t go through that again.

Hotaru’s friend Rami seems to have been accepted as well, though I’m not quite sure. I fear it might have been his mother trying to save face. Guess we’ll find out eventually, in March, when they go back to school.

Hotaru and I made little stamps out of Styrofoam and stamped lots of bows and hearts and hello kitty figures into paper. It was fun and easy to make, though not quite what I had in mind initially, which was introducing her to xerography. Still, I enjoyed her take on the activity a lot more than I would have had we gone with my idea. She even said “Hanko wo tsukutta.” In a very cheerful way. She’s SOOOO adorable ❤

She slept well last night. No concerns about either Dr. Tomoe or Mr. Remus. I’m so relieved! I hate to see her cry. She needs to be a happy child and grow into a happy adult.

I went to Hotaru’s school this afternoon. November is the month where parents take turns giving the kids a lecture or a class of some sort. Lulu’s mom taught them a simple recipe, because she’s a cook. Odango Atama gave them a gym class, since she’s a personal trainer. Someone’s father read them a book and someone’s grandma taught them to make musical instruments out of empty yogurt cups.

Me? I’m a procastinator, so I organized a role playing game. Hotaru asked me to set it on Hogwarts, so I told them a story about them being students at a magical school where I made them go through several classes, from spell learning to gardening and dragon caring. I asked them personally, one by one what color their spells were, what their potions did, what kind of plant they were growing and what their dragons looked alike, then had them beat a monster in the end, combining their forces to defeat it with the spell taught in Defense Against the Dark Arts class… LOL.

Looks like they had fun. They drew me a picture as a thank you gift and seemed super engaged by the activity. Their teacher said they’re not used to using their imagination and that they had a hard time in the beginning, which I saw for myself. Makes sense. They get too much screen time. But my experience with visiting them at school since Hotaru was two is that kids want YOUR attention. They want to tell you what they like and what they do, not the other way around. So I organized this so they had to tell me a lot about their own animals and spells and potions and such… and they loved it!

Things go smoothly when you bear in mind the emotional needs of your target. Looks like all those years studying Marketing in college finally paid off ROFL.

Oh, Chibi Usa missed school today. I wonder if she’s OK. They haven’t replied my whatsapp messages.

Michiru came home after her Dr’s appointment. The woman said her rash is due to stress, sleep deprivation and under eating. Nothing we didn’t know, but hopefully that will put her mother’s mind at ease and she’ll give Michiru a break about going to the doctor.

We did some catching up and folded clothes. Then my blood pressure plummeted and I got very nervous until I realized what the reason I wasn’t feeling well was. Then I put some salt under my tongue and rose my legs and fell asleep on the sofa.

Michiru made dinner for Hotaru and herself. I was too exhausted to eat. Then, we all went to bed early. I wasn’t feeling well enough to read to Hotaru in her bed, so she came to ours and sat in the corner. I read to her there and then she went to bed on her own. It broke my heart, but I really wasn’t recovered enough to stand for a long while in her room reading in the dark.

I did give her several bear hugs to make up for it but it wasn’t enough for me. I think she was happy to watch TV for a change, but that’s good. I want her happy, not super focused on me. She needs to be her own woman once I’m not around, though I expect that to be a long long time in the future.

I’m extremely grateful for Michiru’s kindness and her good disposition to help out when I wasn’t able to do stuff like dinner.

Published by

Haruka Papa

Thirty five year old divorced transgender hotel manager form Argentina raising a child alone. Names have been changed to protect the identity of... all right, they've been changed for fun =P but it's also safer. Oh and my ex wife is a monster who decided playing videogames was more important than helping me stay alive while fighting a really difficult deadly illness so Hotaru and I hate her.

Leave a comment