Bento

Now that Hotaru has gone back to school full time, I’ve been able to make her cute bento again. It makes me happy to be able to do so and it’s one of the highlights of my day. I might not have as much stamina to put into them as before, but I think they’re somehow better than what I used to make for her. Nutritionally speaking at least, since I’m including at least four or five different colors of fruits and veggies now. Sometimes I wonder whether she’s too old for kyaraben or not… what with her having a girlfriend already… but then she asks for me to watch My Little Pony with her and I’m reminded one’s never too old for a Bulbasaur onigiri. Still, those will have to wait. I’ve cut down on her carbs for now since she’s overweight (too many hours sitting in front of the computer, attending virtual classes took a toll).

These are last week’s bento.

I was rather in a hurry but it turned out ok.
I realized too late that I had nothing to draw the kitty’s face with LOL need to buy nori.
Can’t see them from this angle but there are two cats hoping to eat momma hen.
Hard to tell that’s a turtle but it was REALLY late and I was a zombi.
This one turned out amazing but I planned ahead and spent half an hour on it… I saw this design on a book though. Won’t take credit for it.

Hotaru is really happy about going back to school. Seeing her friends every day has boosted her mood 200%. She’s so grown up at times. Last Sunday we had a quiet lunch up in the terrace and shared a beautiful silence. Then she said “I LOOOVE THIS TERRACE. It’s so nice and quiet!” Never knew she appreciated peace as much as I did and keep fearing she might find living with just me too plain after her mother’s constant chatter. Turns out it bothered her as well. She’s told me so. That it gave her headaches. I just LOVE THIS KID TO BITS.

She’s really into writing fanfiction lately. I love it that she’s taken after me hehe. Makes me proud in a very special place in my heart. =P

Know who’s happier as well? The cats! They love the new freedom. I’m letting them out in the terrace to sunbathe for an hour a day. They just love to roll on the warm tiles and chase flies.

I’m just so happy I can’t find the right words for it. And I was so miserable before I just wanted to die. She didn’t want to help around… now her mother has sacked her grandma’s caretaker and has her living with her, taking care of the 95 year old woman and her diapers 24/7. KARMA IS A BITCH, YOU KNOW?? And I fucking love it. Hope the old lady lives up to be 106 =D

Published by

Haruka Papa

Thirty five year old divorced transgender hotel manager form Argentina raising a child alone. Names have been changed to protect the identity of... all right, they've been changed for fun =P but it's also safer. Oh and my ex wife is a monster who decided playing videogames was more important than helping me stay alive while fighting a really difficult deadly illness so Hotaru and I hate her.

Leave a comment