Gardening

IMG-20161102-WA0013.jpg2016-11-02-16-58-202016-11-02-16-59-092016-11-02-16-59-182016-11-02-17-00-07

 

Today was a very interesting day. And yes, just couldn’t resist posting half a dozen pictures. They were all so cute. ❤ I love it when Hotaru and Chibi Usa play like that. They look so happy laughing and running like little maniacs.

Chibi Usa was rather impossible today, though. The doctor needs to readjust her medication now that she has finally put on some weight, so her symptoms keep her in a fussy mood for now. Hopefully, she’ll go back to normal soon. She gets really upset if things don’t go exactly as she likes and has trouble sharing, but Hotaru is EXTREMELY patient with her and very understanding. She lets the little bunny get away with almost anything… except for the stick. No one messes with the stick LOL.

They found a stick laying around and had a huge “IT’S MINE. NO, MINE! ” moment. At least until I gave Hotaru my This-is-your-last-warning-before-I-ground-you look. That ended the argument but Chibi Usa was still being stubborn about not sharing the stick. I had to explain to Hotaru later on that we ought to be patient with the little bunny, but she’s a very understanding child and agreed on being more patient with her in the future. Her heart is so big, she doesn’t hold a grudge at all.

Odango Atama told me they missed the Halloween party because the mom in charge of food refused to make gluten free pizza for Chibi Usa and still intended to charge her the entrance fee, which was ridiculous. I told her she should have told me, I would have gladly brought some snacks for Chibi Usa. I mean, I had to get cookies for Hotaru anyway because she doesn’t eat junk food and their pizza was too spicy for her. I felt sad Chibi Usa had missed the party. I would have paid the entrance fee for her gladly. All the kids had SUCH fun.

Odango Atama still can’t find a stable job but at least they confirmed Chibi Usa’s seat at Rawson School today so it looks like they’re not going back to the country side after all. I’m so glad! Usagi’s ex is even worse than Dr. Tomoe and that’s saying something. At least the creep never put a gun to my head. Besides, I love having them around. They’re fun to be with and they get Hotaru and I. Chibi Usa and Hotaru always have a blast playing together, even when they argue. I wouldn’t want them missing out on that.

We’ve arranged a play date on Saturday. Well, more like Usagi invited herself over, but whatever. Hotaru will be thrilled to have Chibi Usa over and the weather is supposed to be super hot so they might even get to play with water in the patio or even the balcony.

Bought some seeds for Hotaru and I to plant after reading about a vegetable garden somewhere online. I remember gardening with my mom on Saturday mornings before I started taking Japanese lessons and it was our super special moment. I’d help her pot plants and make seed beds and lost of other things I couldn’t remember to save my life. Still, I remember it was insane fun and that I felt close to my mom and very much loved.

Every single plant I touch dies now a days but, in spite of my Rogue-like mutant super power to kill everything green, I love plants and the idea of gardening, especially the concept of an orchard or a vegetable patch… even a vertical hydroponic aromatic herb garden sounds appealing to me, but I digress.

Thing is Hotaru and I got to work on our tiny garden after her impromptu play date with Chibi Usa after school. I got green onions, spinach, watermelon and tomato seeds. We only got to plant the last two today because tilting the soil in the beds and pots was exhausting work and I wasn’t up for a big workout today. Still trying to recover from the weekend and the past couple of days LOL.

Hotaru loved working with her shovels and breaking the hard soil into soft, fine sand like earth for us to plant the seeds in. What got my attention was the watermelon seeds had very weird coloring. Some were green, some were blue, some pink and some red. I had never seen watermelon seeds in any color other than brownish black, so I wonder if they’ll be viable. Guess we’ll have to wait and see, but they didn’t look too great to me.

Dad’s mother in law’s dog died after all. It’s so sad it had to be put down. It was so young and tiny. It breaks my heart. I’ve been thinking about death a lot today. Missing Mr. Remus and thinking of my dead brother. The sad shadow clouded my mood all day today. Even had an anxiety attack during lunch, so I called mom. She talked me through it and then it was time to pick the kid up from school. I was in a nearby café at the time, as our upstairs neighbor was getting his apartment painted (or the hardwood floors varnished or whatever) and the whole apartment REEKED of solvent. It was disgusting and gave me a headache, so I fled.

Hotaru is still sad about her friend Jean switching schools, though I don’t get it. I mean, they have fought like cats and dogs since day one because the girl is a bully and her mother hits her. I tried my best to cheer her up, but it only worked for short spells.

It was Michiru who came up with the solution. She suggested Hotaru wrote to Jean through whatsapp and gave her a call tomorrow. I must be the most stupid person ever. I mean, Hotaru spends most afternoons chatting with Chibi Usa over the phone. How come it never crossed my mind!? In my defense, I’ve had a lot on my mind lately.

Michiru came home after work and found Hotaru and I in the middle of our gardening session. She took that picture hehe.

She was super sleepy. Her schedule has been crazy lately and she’s been going to bed very late this past few days. We sat on the sofa watching Hotaru play a Hamtaro videogame in her computer. Yes, she’s got a new keyboard last Monday, so now she can use her computer again. Anyway… I made meat and mushroom pie for dinner (how very Hobbit-y of me!) and we watched Skylanders during dinner. Then Michiru fell asleep on the couch while Hotaru and I kept watching the show. I like the character design, but disapprove of the humor. I don’t think it’s entirely appropriate for children. Michiru’s wrinkled nose told me she agreed. It wasn’t as bad as Secret Life of Pets, though.

Oh, this morning, Hotaru and I watched a Japanese stop motion video about a mother panda reading a bedtime story to her cub. It was called Pantarou and was about a baby panda born from a slice of bread who was raised by two monkeys. It had several adventures with other animal friends and Hotaru was ABSOLUTELY IN LOVE with the Chibi KoPanda ❤ I’ve never seen her this interested in a Japanese story before. It was sweet and I loved sharing that with her. Now she says she’s my Chibi KoPanda ❤ ❤ ❤

Published by

Haruka Papa

Thirty five year old divorced transgender hotel manager form Argentina raising a child alone. Names have been changed to protect the identity of... all right, they've been changed for fun =P but it's also safer. Oh and my ex wife is a monster who decided playing videogames was more important than helping me stay alive while fighting a really difficult deadly illness so Hotaru and I hate her.

Leave a comment