Numenera RP and politics…

2016-09-18 19.31.43.jpg

The guys came over to play Numenera today. The original idea was to play VtM but, honestly, I didn’t have the time or mood to write the next part of the adventure with everything that’s been going on in my life lately. They were super understanding, though.

My mom took Hotaru to the eye Dr’s office for a check up and then they went shopping while we played. It sounds like they had fun. The only problem is the doctor said she is not to go to school for another week and has to keep applying her eye drops every eight hours now. It’s been a tough week for the two of us.

She wants to go out and do stuff, go to school and meet her friends and I need my quiet time (those three golden hours when she’s at school and I can just relax without anyone talking to me nonstop). So I’ve been irritable and she’s been frustrated which makes for a very frustrating combination.

We’ve been playing Animal Jam every night which is the moment where we somehow forget all this and get along. I don’t like not getting along with her but she talks too much and I need peace and quiet to get over the shock from what happened with Dr. Tomoe’s mom. I know that was eons ago, but I’m still feeling bad about it. It’s still hard to go outside and I keep thinking someone will jump on me at every turn, which isn’t fun.

Michiru came over after her class was over and a HORRIBLY heated debate about politics arose between her, Fran and I. Franco voiced an opinion every now and then and so did Agus, but Fran, Michiru and I were the ones getting worked up. We got so carried away we all ended up yelling at each other. It was AWFUL and I hated everything and everyone, because I LOATHE POLITICS, especially discussing them. I hate the way they make people jump at each other’s throats and it’s not like discussing it over coffee will change a thing anyway, so it’s just a toxic waste of time that makes personal an argument that should have never existed.

Family dinners had always been plagued by this since I was a kid and I hate those debates more every day. I really disliked the way Michiru and I talked or rather yelled at each other and I was in such a foul mood I dashed out of the house with the excuse of buying some grated cheese to bake cheesy puffs for the guys.

Luckily, the debate was over by the time I came back and then, we were finally able to start our Numenera RP (Franco was GM) while Michiru and Hotaru played in her room.

I had fun playing Numenera, but the bad taste of that debate didn’t go away.

Published by

Haruka Papa

Thirty five year old divorced transgender hotel manager form Argentina raising a child alone. Names have been changed to protect the identity of... all right, they've been changed for fun =P but it's also safer. Oh and my ex wife is a monster who decided playing videogames was more important than helping me stay alive while fighting a really difficult deadly illness so Hotaru and I hate her.

Leave a comment